Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Application error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    83

    Default Application error

    Hi guys, recently I upgraded to SSD hard drive and bought a new pair of memory sticks because i windows found out its been defective. Now my computer freezes sometimes not most of the time and I also got this message.




    Thats the first problem, second problem is that every time my computer get back from the sleep mode it always loading like this picture below. I have to wait for a for a while then I have to press restart button.

    Taking too long
    I have to restart
    after restart "resuming window"this is weird

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,467

    Default

    Hey John, I will try to help!! I am asking a lot of questions but they only require simple answers.

    All the questions I will be asking will be unrelated to each other. I can answer one of your concerns, 'Resuming Windows' will occur always when windows is not shut down in its 'normal shutdown process', like suddenly like power is cut off or power failure, BSOD, etc.. So when windows is 'taking too long' and you hit restart, that restart process is probably interrupting 'a much too long boot of Windows' which is the same thing as 'not allowing Windows to shut down within its normal process 'envelope'.

    Questions: What exactly made you change to an SSD -- were you having any identifiable problems, delays, etc. ?

    Next,
    bought a new pair of memory sticks because i windows found out its been defective
    , what exactly are you saying here? I interpret it to mean that Windows somehow indicated your RAM was defective; is this what you mean or can you be more exact in what you mean?

    What is the size of the RAM, the specifications, and the manufacturer, mfgs. catalog number of the new RAM sticks you purchased? Who did you purchase it from?

    Last question and it is important. During this period of problems, have you been running daily a antivirus and/or malware program? If so what is the software app you are using or are you using more than one AV / malware app? If you only randomly run malware or AV, for example only once a week or so (EDIT 4:30pm est), please say so!

    I assume there are periods of time that everything runs normal. If so, how long are these periods of normal operation? During normal operation, does anything ever stop the 'normal operation' and things revert to the above problem mode? OR during normal operation, are you allowed to shut down normally and then, also, restart normally?

    Does the above problem just randomly show itself on first boot? Is this the only way you 'get the problem to occur' -- first boot fails to work properly and you 'desend' into this problem?

    The questions are all necessary -- I am tryng to find a logical starting point for the problem. There are too many possibilites, the answers to the questions will narrow things down considerably.

    (Edit 4:30pm est) Your problem can be caused by at least one of the following: malware or virus; separately it can be RAM still or even the new SSD. It is unlikely that it would be a combination of any two of the three. (Edit 9pm)

    Forgot one question, the last screen where it shows 'name locked' -- Can you click on 'Switch User' or 'Locked' or the 'Logo' and bring up the 'enter password' box or not -- ie. is this page completed frozen as your picture shows it?
    Last edited by zburns; 03-24-2011 at 09:00 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Sorry zburns, I was having problems and busy at home so I couldnt reply you. Thanks for trying to help me you, I really appreciated.

    yes windows indicated my RAM was defective so I replaced them. Now iam using new 4GB of RAM. This one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820211188

    I don't think its the software anymore since I just installed a new fresh windows vista.
    The problem only occur when I put the computer in sleep mode for quite some time. When I want to get to windows , it shows up the last image i uploaded, then I have to wait for a really long time . Until I can't wait no longer I pressed on the restart button, then you see the image " resume windows " then I can get to windows.

    For your last questions , the whole screen just freezes, cant do anything all you can do is wait for really long time or press restart button

    This is also new and old problem, sometimes my computer freezes then it shows really fast of the blue screen of death. It flashed like 1 second then computer restarts itself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    Try a system restore to a date prior to when the error started occurring.
    My Rig:
    Corsair Obsidian 450D | EVGA SuperNova G3 650W | Asus Prime Z270-A | Intel i7-7700K | Cryorig H7 | G.Skill TridentZ 16gb (2x8gb) DDR4 3200 | MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8G | Crucial MX300 SSD | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Asus VW246H

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    1,467

    Default

    Just read your post. My quick, off the cuff suggestion, is to do what Ricky suggests. My suggestion is too be very sure that you are running malware and antivirus scans on a daily basis -- if you have not been doing this, your problem could really be a virus, trojan, something from 'outside'.

    I have routinely over the last three months had more bad stuff show up on my computer since I built it three years ago. My point is that I have had BSOD's, boot problems, software gliches -- just things that were away from 'the normal routine daily operation'. Malwarebytes and Microsoft Security Essentials both caught most of my bad stuff. Malwarebytes picked up two Trojans several days ago that Microsoft identified but did not eliminate earlier. I am just trying to emphasize that 'routinely looking for intruders into your computer' is really important'.

    Here is an entirely different comment separate from the above paragraph. It would be very unusual for you to have multiple problems at the same time causing all that you describe. For example, Windows 'told you that your RAM was defective' -- that may really be the case, then again the RAM you replaced may be perfectly ok. Since you still have most or some of the old problem still there -- it is unlikely that the RAM was the problem -- again you are looking for one particular 'thing' that is the cause of all the problem(s).

    Right now, you must assume that there is only 'one cause of the problem'. So you 'rule out the possible causes, one at a time'. 1. First thing, download and try running Malwarebytes by itself, and then run Microsoft Security Essentials by itself (do not run them at the same time). 2. If you do not pick up anything with the first suggestion, run a 'system restore prior to the date of the problem occuring' as Ricky suggests.

    Here is another completely different suggestion. If your old hard drive was removed intact with no known hardware issues or software issues, you could reinstall it, remove the SSd, and see what happens.

    Again -- you probably only have ONE problem causing all this!!
    Last edited by zburns; 04-05-2011 at 09:18 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I didnt try system restore but I did installed a new fresh windows but the problem is still there.

    Everytime the computer comes back from the long sleep mode it freezes. I have to restart it everytime. I tried to run malware software and antivirus but still didnt work.

    These are the event viewer that I see in my computer, any ideas?




  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    2,503

    Default

    My Rig:
    Corsair Obsidian 450D | EVGA SuperNova G3 650W | Asus Prime Z270-A | Intel i7-7700K | Cryorig H7 | G.Skill TridentZ 16gb (2x8gb) DDR4 3200 | MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8G | Crucial MX300 SSD | Windows 10 Pro 64-bit | Asus VW246H

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    83

    Default

    I read it and tried to set the power option of the hard drive to "never" . So basicly everytime my computer wakes up from the sleep mode it crashes. Now I never leave it in sleep mode anymore. But the internet explorer crashes sometimes. Iam afraid its the new ssd problem, so am going to install OS on my old hard drive.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •