PDA

View Full Version : Building my first PC, could do with a little info.

Audiokatz
11-28-2007, 12:01 AM
Hi.

I'm considering upgrading/building a new PC. I use a computer for music making applications primarily so ram and processor speeds are important to me.

My current machine is as follows:

P4. 2.8 gig, 1 gig ram ( using 2 sticks of 512 DDR SDRAM )

I have a Maxtor 250 gig HD ( master ) and a Seagate 60 gig HD, both formatted to NTFS.

My Graphic cards currently broken

I'm using an Audiophile 24/96 sound card.

I think that's the relevant specs?

So I was thinking of getting a new mobo and processor and RAM. ( what I'm considering is the Intel Quad Core2 Quad Pro 6600 2.4Ghz )

Haven't made a decision on a mobo yet but have been looking at an ASUS P5k Deluxe WiFi DDR2. ( I don't know what WiFi is )

So to build my new PC here's the things I would like to know about.

1. Do I need a new HD, or will I be able to use the 2 I have now?

2. Will I need a new PSU? I have no idea whether the one in this machine will power the new components or not, all I know at this moment is that it has a max output capacity of 250w

3. Will I need a new case to build the new PC? Obviously I could use the one I have now and I have another spare as well but I have no clue as to whether I need a new one.

Apart from a new graphics card, is there anything else that I would actually need to upgrade, or does it just look like a new mobo, processor and ram?

Thanks a lot in advance for any help regarding this.

[edit] Oh, forgot to mention. I am also unsure about the importance of the quality of the graphics card for music making applications. I am not a gamer or anything but I'd like something that doesn't take any power from anything but itself and provides the necessary graphics without anything that I'd never be using.

Jamie Nixx
11-28-2007, 07:34 AM
For music editing i doubt you will need a hefty graphics card, only Video intensive editing applications would need one.