PDA

View Full Version : AMD vs Intel revisited

Dizz
11-23-2007, 05:56 PM
Hi folks, new to the boards. I have been reading the information you folks have accumulated for a couple of days now. Really appreciate everything I have seen so far. Onto my question:

I built a nice rig over four years ago. I am NOT a computer expert, my line of work involves construction. Consider this a hobby. A couple of days ago it burned out and I am now in the market to go ahead and start building another one. First problem was picking out the CPU. (I would go into details on the computer, but another time and another thread)

I picked out the AMD Athlon 64 X2 (6400, AM2 socket, 1000mhz bus) due to price and speed. But after reading more up on AMD, I was not impressed. The last computer I built was Intel. Again, after reading on these boards the major consensus is to build with Intel.

The computer is solely for gaming. I want a processor that will last for a good five years, and I am thinking about what Wise Monkey has stated before back in August, future thinking as in using the DDR3.

Price? Not an option. I have a certified letter from my wife saying I am allowed to build this. :D (Until she see's the bill...TEEHEE!)

Thanks bunches!

~/>

Jamie Nixx
11-23-2007, 06:22 PM
Ok money isn't an option.

You may want to wait for the 9 series cards, if we are lucky we may see them before the year is out.

You may also want to wait for Intels new quad core processors, they are going to be awesome.

Motherboard wise your going to want either a good P35 chipset board that offers DDR2 and DDR3 support, or you can wait for the new X48 chipset.

DO NOT even contemplate getting DDR3 memory, its not worth the money even if you have bottomless pits for pockets.

Now, i can price an awesome rig for you now or you can wait a while to build and get more for your money, its up to you.

Dizz
11-23-2007, 09:13 PM
Ok money isn't an option.