PDA

View Full Version : This is my first build, please verify

bk12321kb
11-19-2007, 04:09 PM
Hello friends,
I am trying to build my first desktop. I have gone through this website, and it's awesome. Can somebody please verify if the components I selected are good and worth the money I put for them. I am trying to build a low-fi, no frills desktop. I am not very much interested in gaming. So trying to build an intermediate one which can be upgradeable at a later time.

My components are:
1. Computer Case: COOLER MASTER RC-690-KKN1-GP Black SECC/ ABS ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail ($50)

2. Power Supply: COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro RS-650-ACAA-A1 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply - Retail ($85)

3. CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 2.66GHz LGA 775 Processor ($195)

4. MoBo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4 Rev. 2.0 ATX Intel Motherboard ($178)

5. Memory: Crucial 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory ($50)

6. DVD Drive: ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model DRW-2014L1T ($40)

7. Video card: EVGA GeForce 8500GT 512-P2-N747-LR Video Card ($80)

8. Hard disk: Western Digital Caviar SE16 500GB 3.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM ($105)

9. Keyboard & Mouse: Logitech Cordless Desktop S510 Keyboard and Mouse Combo ($40)

10. OS: Microsoft Windows Vista 32-Bit Home Premium for System Builders Single Pack DVD - OEM ($112)

So these are the components I am trying to buy. It costs me around $935 to build this thing. Please verify all the components.. Is it worth the money?

Thanks
BK

Jamie Nixx
11-19-2007, 04:20 PM
I'll be honest with you mate, that setup is very very overkill if your not gaming.

All of the parts you chose (bar graphics card) are gaming components.

bk12321kb
11-19-2007, 04:57 PM
Hi,
Thanks much for replying.

How about going for these two things here?
THERMALTAKE Wing RS 101 VG8000BNS Mid Tower Case ($31)
Antec earthwatts EA430 ATX12V v2.0 430W Power Supply ($40)