PDA

View Full Version : A little cheaper model, please?

msmimi
10-13-2007, 11:30 AM
I've built two computers before, made plenty mistakes, but learned a lot. Now, my old one is 5 yrs and needs replacing. I'm 71 years old, female, self-taught (still learning) and my needs are minimal. I surf the net, do a little repair work for others, keep up with my email.

My system now x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0 Authentic AMD ~1830 Mhz with 256 mg ram.

I intend to buy my parts one or two a month as I can afford them, but can get it done sooner if I don't buy too expensive. Since I don't game or overclock, can someone tell me about compatible parts that are mid-line priced or even the cheapest yet still worthy? I will print it out and it will become my new wishlist for Christmas, etc.

I appreciate any help. Thank you.

ms.mimi

Jamie Nixx
10-13-2007, 12:02 PM
Whats your budget?

msmimi
10-13-2007, 12:08 PM
I'll pay what I have to in order to have a decent computer; it will just take me longer. In order to try to give you a responsive answer, I don't want the very cheapest.

Thanks for your time.

Jamie Nixx
10-13-2007, 12:13 PM
Well that narrows it down a bit lol :D

I price computers for people on this website regularly, and i give the best performance to cost ratio, well in my opinion i do anyway :D

I don't mind pricing a decent computer for you if you want.

msmimi
10-13-2007, 12:26 PM
I would appreciate anything you might do! My fear if I do it without help is that I'll put together things that don't "jell".

As to budget, I can't buy a Suburban:( but a nice little SUV might be saved for:o

msmimi
10-13-2007, 12:37 PM
By the way, I already have the hard drive (gift from my son). It is a 300 gig Seagate Barracuda 7200.10, so anything I get would have to be compatible. This is the only part I already have unless I take my ram (256) from this old computer. I imagine I will buy at least an additional gig.

Jamie Nixx
10-17-2007, 09:43 AM