PDA

View Full Version : Advice on sorting myself out.

SunDiver
10-10-2007, 09:34 PM
First of all this is a great site – so glad I stumbled across it. Read through the entire online tutorial - great work !

This is my first build and I need some help in sorting out what I need.

I’m going to use the new computer for work and gaming.

The only thing I really have picked out is the Intel Quad Core Q6600 CPU. I would like to have the option of overclocking it to 3.0GHz later if I wanted to.

For work I need to hook up 2 monitors. I like the Samsung SyncMaster 245BW 24" LCD Monitor but am not fully sold on it as yet. I would also like to max out the RAM if I could.

As far as gaming goes – I enjoy my games but am not a hard core gamer so the system doesn’t need to be bleeding edge, but one step back from that would be ok.:)

I would like to be able to play all the latest games at max settings if I could – but if I’m going to compromise on anything in the system – it would be the graphics card(s).

I’m not sure if I need SLI or Crossfire – as that would help me determine the motherboard. Can I set up either SLI or Crossfire AND have 2 monitors hooked up? My understanding is that I can have only one monitor.

Stability and reliability is big for me – so I’d like to have a nice margin on cooling and power. I like the idea of water cooling – was looking at the Coollt Eliminator. PSU wise I was thinking of something around the 1000W mark but haven’t narrowed it down as yet.

I guess I'm kind of stuck at the motherboard stage. Any suggestions on the components and a build would be most welcome.

Thank you !

Jamie Nixx
10-11-2007, 07:48 AM
Even if a motherboard has SLi or Crossfire, that shouldn't determine the motherboard you get, as most motherboard nowadays are SLi or Crossfire capable.

you don't need a 1000w PSU, thats major overkill.

You don't need SLi to setup two monitors either, although dual monitors will work fine with SLi.