PDA

View Full Version : Please tell me what you think about new build

jonm888
09-21-2007, 12:08 PM
I've never built a computer before and thinking about going with these components after reading Rob's advice and a few others on the board. I'm planning on installing Vista and play some games. I would like to be able to run dx10 and most games, but I'm also on a budget of a soft $1000. I would like something pretty upgradeable too. Thanks in advance.

LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model LH-20A1L-06 - Retail

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6750

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler

Antec NeoPower 650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply

Antec Solo Black/Silver Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X2048-6400C4

RickyTick
09-21-2007, 06:45 PM
I just finished my first build, and it wasn't hard at all. I have to admit that I had some help from someone who had done it before.

I like the choices you picked, however the HD is bit small. Look for a Western Digital Caviar SE16 320gb. Its a hot item right now.

I also noticed the ram you chose has a big rebate at zipzoomfly, along with no shipping.

Also, unless your planning on SLI later on, there are some less expensive mobos out there. Personally, I think SLI is overrated, and a waste of money.

Jamie Nixx
09-21-2007, 06:59 PM