PDA

View Full Version : Help on new build

Danl
09-08-2007, 02:32 PM
This is my first post here but Rob's info and the help I've received just lurking has been great! Thanks

This is my first build and it's going great so far, with your help. Just did the first boot and all went well. Now I have a few questions that I have not found the answer to.

My system is
Sonata III case
Asus P5N-E SLI mobo
Intel E6750 CPU
Zalman CNPS9500 CPU fan w/ arctic silver 5
e-GeForce 7600 GT Graphics Card
2048MB Crucial PC2 6400 DDR2 RAM
2 WD 320G 7200 SATA2 HD
Sony DRU-840A DVD/CD burner
Sony DDU1632 DVD/CD ROM
some unknown brown box 3.5 floppy drive
And I am going to try to install Vista Home premium.

I am now installing the optical drive and the hard drives and the assembly insructions say connect the ide ribbon cable from the optical drives to the 2nd ide connector. Since I will be installing SATA HHDs the 1st is available, which should i use. The two on by mobo are labled primary and secondary ide.

And while I have your attention any suggestions on the SATA config, ie, RAID 0, 1 or JBOD. I think I am leaning toward RAID 1 or JBOD.

TIA, I could/would never have tried this with the help from Rob's site and this forum.:)

The Wise Monkey
09-09-2007, 11:07 AM
Glad you decided to go ahead with the build - hope the rest of it goes smoothly. :)

It doesn't really matter which IDE you use, as it will be detected no matter what. Still, putting it in the primary slot never does any harm.

Lots of people have had trouble with that CPU fan, so I hope that it works OK for you. Just be aware that if there are any overheating problems with your system, then that should be one of the first things that you check.

I've always had a problem with RAID in that people always seem to use it for no real reason. RAID 1 offers much better data security, but it is slower in both read and write. JBOD isn't really a RAID method, but just a way of organising your space.