PDA

View Full Version : High End Performance PC | Specs Validation Request

nougain
09-09-2013, 12:35 PM
After some research, I kind of zero'ed-in on the following specs for the PC that I wanted to build. I have limited knowledge in this space and I am not sure if this is the best configuration I am able to come up with. I am neither a gamer enthusiast nor a graphics heavy loader pro, yet would like to have something towards the high-end --- something that remains relevant/scalable for next 4-5 years. Yes I wanted to play games (not die hard) and would be doing software development, running movies, lot of MS office stuff, and usual stuff. Want lightening speed. Am not looking for over-clocking kind of stuff (so 'k' series is probably not advised).

I would appreciate if the seasoned fraternity of this forum could review my specs and give their feedback on it. Please point out incompatibilities, shortcomings and provide suggestions for imporving the specs. Thanks much.

--
Ramesh
(New Delhi, India)

High End Performance PC

Component

Brand

Model

Questions/Remarks

Processor

Intel CPU

Intel 3.4 GHz LGA1150 4770 i7 4th Gen

FCLGA1150 socket type, 32 GB DDR3-1333, DDR3-1600, 2 Channel, 4 Cores, 84W Max TDP, 64 bit, 3 yr warranty, 22nm, 25.6 GB/s, Desktop, LOCKED (no-overclocking)

Motherboard

Asus M/B

Asus H87-PRO

LGA1150, H87, ATX, Dual Channel DIMM supporting 4 Memory Slot, 32GB

Back I/O Ports
1 x PS/2 keyboard/mouse combo port(s)
1 x DVI
1 x D-Sub
1 x DisplayPort
1 x HDMI
1 x LAN (RJ45) port(s)
4 x USB 3.0 (blue)
2 x USB 2.0
1 x Optical S/PDIF out
6 x Audio jack(s)

RAM

Corsair

Vengeance 8GB 1600 MHz (will have 2 of them ie 16GB)

CMZ8GX3M1A1600C10, DDR3 1600/PC3 12800, 240 Pins, 10-10-10-27 CAS Latency, DIMM

HDD

Seagate HDD

2TB, ST2000DM001 (7200 rpm) cache (64MB) SATA 6GB/s NCQ interface (Formally Barracuda) - Fully compatible with legacy SATA 1.5Gb/s and SATA 3Gb/s interfaces

Total 4TB