PDA

View Full Version : New computer build

imagemaker5150
07-08-2013, 02:20 PM
I am planning to build a new computer and I would appreciate any comments or recommendations on my parts list. I am a photographer and I use my computer primarily for digital image retouching and manipulation. I also use Corel Painter regularly. My main concern with the new computer is speed primarily and budget secondarily. Funds are limited so I can't afford any unnecessary parts. Here is my current list:

1. Intel i7 4770K third or fourth gen. processor (Would use i7 3770K for third gen processor. Would need recommendation on the mother board) I would hope to use the stock Intel cooler if not overclocking.

2. Gigabyte GA Z87X UD3H ATX motherboard

3.16GB Crucial D3 1600 memory

4. Corsair Carbide 200R case

5. Samsung 120GB SSD drive for operating system and programs

6. WD Black 1TB mechanical HD

7. Gigabyte GT 630 1GB D3 video card (I don't use it for gaming. Just want adequate card for use with Photoshop CS6)

8. Corsair CS 500W 80+ Bronze power supply

9. Windows 7 Pro operating system (I know Windows 8 is out but would rather use Windows 7 )

I won't be using the computer for gaming but I might consider overclocking somewhere down the line. This would be my first build and I don't want to stray too far from "normal" operation.

Your thoughts and suggestions would be most appreciated. Thanks

joenewbie
07-08-2013, 03:26 PM
I like the build.

The only thing I'd point out is the case, good case, but make sure you actually check out that power/reset "rocker" button, just a personal pet peeve of mine but that one aspect to the case seems very shoddy in it's otherwise quality build, I'm partial to Corsair products in general though so... *shrug*

By the way, Windows 8 sucks if you're not on a touchscreen especially, so big thumbs up to Win7 choice.

Good luck!

imagemaker5150
07-08-2013, 03:34 PM
Thanks for the info joenewbie.

RickyTick
07-08-2013, 08:23 PM