PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on 1st build

aj8690
08-14-2007, 03:32 PM
Hello everyone!

I am building my first computer and looking for a little advice. Here is a wish-list I put together on newegg.com, which contains all the parts I *think* I want.

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=5788952

This is my first build but I do have some experience inside computers. I just am really concerned with hardware computability.

Will the MoBo fit in that case? Will that power supply be able to power everything? Is the CPU/Memory/MoBo all compatible with each other?

The MoBo says RAID 0 and 1, so I am buying 2 hdds and I want to try to do a RAID 0. Will that work with the stuff I am getting? Do I need any additional controllers, etc.?

I just really need to make sure everything is compatible.

And if you have any other suggestions like how I can save money without losing too much power, etc, that would be great!

Thanks! :)

Jamie Nixx
08-14-2007, 06:01 PM
Scrap the motherboard, go for an Asus P5N-E SLI mobo, its cheap and is one of the best Intel boards available, and, its very easy to setup for a noob builder.

CPU is really good, so can't change that.

The power supply is also very good, but i would go for at least 600w.

Don't like that ram, go for Corsair XMS2 2GB kit, your comp will fly with it, but it might be overkill as it is Gaming ram, so go for reputable brands such as corsair, crucial, ocz ect

DO NOT, get Vista, at least not yet, the drivers are way behind and its a bit dodgy.

Everything else looks ok, but you don't have a case, for the mobo i suggested, your going to need an ATX case.

My personal recommendation is for either a Thermaltake Tsunami or Antec 900 they are both good, thats why i have both :D

You need any more info, just ask away mate :)

RickyTick
08-15-2007, 08:58 PM
[QUOTE=Everything else looks ok, but you don't have a case, for the mobo i suggested, your going to need an ATX case.