PDA

View Full Version : First ever build. Would love some feedback on the parts I chose.

jayfid
08-12-2012, 06:18 PM
Hey all,
I'm building my first PC ever and was hoping someone could look at the parts I chose and let me know if there's anything that i'm missing or that I should be aware of since I don't really know what I'm doing. :confused::confused:

As for what I'm using it for-
I'm a developer who has traditionally worked on linux and mac computers. I'd like to be able to run IDEs, text editors, multiple browsers, local servers/services and virtual machines for development/debugging purposes. I'd also like to be able to run photoshop and illustrator for when I'm developing to a design. Beyond that, I've never really played many games on the PC, but I'd really like to have the option.

Parts-
Case: Cooler Master HAF X
PSU: SeaSonic 750W Power Supply X750 Gold
Motherboard: ASUS Deluxe Intel Z77 ATX DDR3 2600 LGA 1155 Motherboard P8Z77-V DELUXE
CPU: Intel Core i7-3770K Quad-Core Processor 3.5 GHz 6 MB Cache
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Blue 16GB (4x4GB) DDR3
Graphics card: Radeon XFX HD 6970 2 GB Graphics Card
Hard Drive(s): Corsair Force GT 60 GB SATA III/6G 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive for the OS, Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache
Optical Drive(s):ASUS 24x DVD-RW
OS: I'll either wait for windows 8 before I build it, or (if I get impatient :) ) put windows 7 on it

Does all this look kosher to everybody? I'm open to all suggestions, feedback, etc.

Thanks,
J

RickyTick
08-12-2012, 07:50 PM
Considering what you're using this computer for, I'd be inclined to max out the ram to 32gb. I'd also go with a HD 7950. Better performance for the same price.
I know you're only putting the OS on there, but a 60gb SSD is going to fill up kind of fast. You might consider something around the 120 gb range.

luciasar00
08-13-2012, 02:35 PM
Whoa. Doesn't 32 gb seem over the top for this?