PDA

View Full Version : How Do I Build a dual monitor rig for Photoshop?

Hank
05-24-2012, 06:30 PM
Gentlemen,
I am a semi-professional photographer and its time that I build a dual monitor system that is suitable for my needs. I use Photoshop extensively and I must have the ability to calibrate my monitors. Monitor 1 is an Eizo Flex Scan for editing photos. Monitor 2 is for general web surfing, playing video board games and MS Office applications.
From what I’ve read, the only true way of calibrating monitors separately is having two graphics cards-one for each monitor. I’m also confused on a suitable motherboard, hardrive(S), RAM, etc. I would be eternally grateful if you could recommend a good, quiet and reliable set-up for my purposes. Thank you! Hank

RickyTick
05-24-2012, 09:12 PM
Wish I could offer some help. I can only refer you to Google to search around. Maybe someone else here will have some advice.
Best of luck.

zburns
05-24-2012, 09:30 PM
Hello Hank and welcome to the forums.

Your computer components are easy to specify. I will have to do a some research on the monitor calibration. Below are some webpages on the subject. The first URL is the 'google' page for the remainder of the list. The last one with Cambridge in the name is familiar for some reason. I will look thru these tomorrow and get back to you. There are some additional questions (or talking points) after the list.

http://www.google.com/search?q=LCD+monitor+calibration&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&channel=fflb
-------------------
http://www.lagom.nl/lcd-test/
------------------
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/5-online-tools-calibrate-monitor/
------------------------
http://www.wikihow.com/Calibrate-Your-Monitor
------------------
http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/monitor-calibration.htm
-----------------------