PDA

View Full Version : first build...questions on a few recommended hardware components

bdeuster
08-31-2011, 11:03 PM
I'm a rookie.... looking to build my first PC with the assistance of the my super pc site. Years ago my uncle helped me build a PC for a good price w/ quality components and believe it or not I'm still using that same PC 8 years later with no problems (added some memory in the past but that was about it). However, I'm maxing out my hard drive and know it's time to replace the PC before hardware failures start to creep up (I feel like I'm already pushing my luck).

I was planning on just going with the recommendation that are listed on the site however I have a few questions:

1. Processor: In the summary area it lists Intel Core i7-860 (quad-core) however further down it lists Intel Core i5-2500K 3.3GHz. Is it worth going with the i7 (what is the big difference or what is gained)?
2. MoBo: MSI P67A-GD65(B3) LGA 1155 is listed in the recommendations however I saw mixed reviews on Amazon that sort of made me double think this component. Any thoughts or alternate recommendations?