PDA

View Full Version : First boot after some modifications problems

dxhowto
07-30-2011, 01:13 PM
I had an old pc laying around and it worked just fine but it only had 512 mb of RAM so I upgraded and put in two new sticks 500mb each. I also added a new sound card. I was thinking about getting a new processor so I took the fan over it off and the processor out but I put it back in and didn't upgrade. I think I put it in right.

So now when i plug this pc in 2 lights on the motherboard light up and one led light outside the case flashes red. When I press the power button the fan moves a little, i hear a beep out of the speaker but it doesn't power up. I am new to this so any help would be greatly appreciated. Any suggestions? Thanks!

RickyTick
07-30-2011, 01:23 PM
If it was running ok with the new ram and sound card, and won't boot after removing the cpu heatsink, then I'd say you didn't install the heatsink properly. Did you re-install the thermal compound that goes between the cpu and heatsink?

dxhowto
07-30-2011, 07:55 PM
Thanks for the reply. I did forget to add some more heatsink glue and after adding it and putting everything back together I get the same problem. The light on the tower is still flashing red and the motherboard leds are lit up but when I press the power button the fan moves for a second but the pc doesn't turn on. Any other suggestions? Thanks!

zburns
07-31-2011, 01:53 PM
I was thinking about getting a new processor so I took the fan over it off and the processor out but I put it back in and didn't upgrade.