PDA

View Full Version : Do I Need a Gaming Computer?

seeburt
05-18-2011, 10:47 PM
Even though I'm not a gamer I am a professional photographer and my need to move seemlessly between programs is important to me. I have multiple memory hog programs that I sometimes have open all at once. I use Photoshop (PS 5), Lightroom 3.4, NIK, and Bridge. It's not uncommon for me to have all 4 programs running at the same time while doing a Facebook update on my photo page.

My current computer is a store bought Gateway (GM5478). It's an early version quad core: 2.4 GHz, 2394MHz, 4 cores. I'm running Vista and 6 gigs of RAM; video card is NVIDIA GeForce 210; Intel G33/G31/P35 Express Chipset. I store most of my images on 2 external hd's.

My main complaint with my current computer is that sometimes it gives you that "barber shop ghost" (multple tracks/trails) when you move a program windows. Sometimes it takes a few seconds to react/process a change or alteration. I'm looking at putting something together that can handle the multi-tasking that I do, and not flutter. Maybe a full on gaming system is what I need and maybe not. I just know that gamers are a lot more familiar with what goes into the box then the average "Joe" (me). I don't know if my issues transfer into the gaming world, I just thought this was as good of place as any to start. Thanks and I hope I haven't pissed anyone off by posting here.

RickyTick
05-19-2011, 07:15 AM
You don't really need a "full on" gaming rig, but you do need something very close. The exception is the video card. The discrete video card for a gamer is specifically for 3D acceleration and high resolution. I would still suggest a discrete video card, but not the extreme one's that gamers need.

This video card would be on the upper end of what you need.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130625
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102931