PDA

View Full Version : 9 year old daughter wants to build super computer

scooby
04-08-2011, 12:20 PM
:D

Hello everybody. My name is Mike and I have a 9 year old daughter (Emily) who wants me to build a computer with her. This all started when I chucked my last Dell computer in the garbage. I have had many many problems with Dell and I have owned 4 Dell laptops.

I was doing a search on possibilities of building my own PC desktop computer and low and behold this website came up. My daughter is very bright and was reading this with me. She is pretty excited and wants to discover how it goes together and the nuts and bolts behind it.

I'm a plumber by trade and Emily is a very hands on girl and wants to be right there while it's hapening.

The primary use of the computer will be for my family and and my plumbing business. I just need to run Quickbooks on it. I might even consider 2 computers because she is getting pretty smart with computers and kind of needs one also.

Games are not done in our house, at least so far but my daughter is very artistic and has been asking about a graphics editor to buy so she can be creative etc.

If you don't mind me asking.....where does this put me? What type of system? I've been reading through the threads and I'm getting a little confused on what we need.

Money isn't an issue here, I just want my daughter to experience a fun project with Dad and the end result is we also have a computer when we are done. Do any of you fellas have any sugestions what the best package would be for us.

Mike and Emily

RickyTick
04-08-2011, 04:02 PM
Hello Mike and Emily. Welcome to the MySuperPC forums.

On this build, will you be needing a new keyboard and mouse, and how about a new monitor?

scooby
04-08-2011, 04:42 PM
Hi Ricky