PDA

View Full Version : Permission for take off

addnon
02-19-2011, 05:27 PM
Hi all,

This is my first build and I'm looking for some feedback before I pull the trigger. I understand that is probably not the best time to be building a new PC (especially with the sandy bridge issues and what not), but it is an absolute must that I have a new computer now. I am completely open to suggestions and substitutions.

Some info:
-I'm fairly competent with computers
-I play games every now and then, Not a lot, but I still want my games to look nice and run smooth
-I am a graphic designer/web developer/coder
-Illustrator, Photoshop, Dreamweaver must run flawlessly
-I want my computer to be solid, smooth, and reliable
-I want to spend around $800-900.
-I have a LCD, optical drive, mouse, etc.

Here is the list:

New egg link:https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=22502508

Case: Antec Three Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
$59.95

Mobo: ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366 Intel X58 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
$187.99

GFX card: ????

PSU: Antec EarthWatts Green EA-430D Green 430W Continuous power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS 12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power ...
$44.99

CPU: Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor BX80601950
$299.99

RAM: GeIL Value PLUS 4GB 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Desktop Memory Model GVP34GB1066C7SC (x 3 = 12 GB Total)
$119.97

HD: Western Digital Caviar Black WD5002AALX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
$59.90

TotaL: $772.79

RickyTick
02-19-2011, 06:09 PM
I'm not so sure about that ram. Normally instead of buying 3 sticks of ram, you would buy 1 kit that has 3 sticks of matched ram in it.
Also, that motherboard is not on the "approved list" for that ram.

Otherwise, your choices seem fine. For a graphics card, the GTX560 Ti is a top contender, but you could save a few bucks with the GTX460 1gb and still get excellent performance.