PDA

View Full Version : CPU fan, front panel connectors & case fan

dncb777
07-26-2007, 04:00 PM
I'm a newbie. I know. Don't groan.

I have an Antec Sonata II case, MSI K9N SLI board and an AMD A64 X2 5200.

1) The CPU cooler fan that comes with this processor has a 3 hole connector. The motherboard's CPU FAN1 is a 4 pin. May I assume that I should still use FAN1, not SYS1 on the motherboard (which is a 3 pin) since the 3 hole plug fits on 3 of the 4 pins on FAN1?
2) case front panel wires: front panel connectors are described in Rob's building directions for another case as "black=ground and color= +." Does this hold true for the Sonata II wires too (also since it has wires not mentioned in the other build)?
3) Last, also coming out of the front panel (On-Off LED's?) are 1 each red and white wires terminating in a regular 5 pin male 12V Molex connector piggybacked to a female Molex. May I assume that I just plug this into the any power supply Molex connector, or does it have to be connected to the same Molex chain as is plugged into the motherboard in order to sense something?
Thanks for the help. I'm sure these won't be the last questions.

The Wise Monkey
07-27-2007, 02:33 AM
Why should we groan? This forum is about helping people with new builds.

1. Check your motherboard manual, but I'm pretty sure that there won't be a problem. I think that you put the power socket over the 3 left hand pins, but I cant remember. :)

2. The wires are the same for pretty much every case. Don't worry about this too much, as nothing bad will happen if you get the connector the wrong way around e.g. the power light will stay off, or something like that.

3. Can't really help you with this one as I don't know the case, but the power connections only really transport power, not sensing things. It might be for the front case fans - the LED power comes from the front panel collection of pins that you mentioned in 2.

Hope this helps. :)

dadbuilt
07-27-2007, 05:06 AM