PDA

View Full Version : First Build Compatibility

stoutimore
02-16-2011, 09:51 AM
This is my first build. I don't do gaming, and require only average video and sound. Mostly use email, internet, office suite applications, and light duty video. I am perplexed by the many different speeds, form-factors, rates, etc., that must be compatible for things to work. If it matters I run Ubuntu Linux. I would appreciate any input on whether any of the following are off:

Case: HEC 7106BB ATX (I need a horizontal case).
CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz, 2 X 512KB L2 Cache, 6MB L3 Cache, AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop, C3 Revision
MoBo: Biostar TX790GXB3 AM3 (ATX)
RAM: G. Skill Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDRe 1600 (PC3 12800). (Ordered only one pair).
PSU: Cooler Master Elite 460 RS-460-PSAR-J3 460W ATX12v
HDD: WD Caviar Blue--SATA, 320 GB
CD/DVD: Lite-On iHAS-324-98B
Fans: The case didn't come with fans. There are places for a 120mm fan at top, two 60mm fans at back, and one 80mm fan at front. Will I need to add fans at some or all of these locations, or will the PSU and CPU fans be adequate?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

RickyTick
02-16-2011, 01:37 PM
Hello Stoutimore. Welcome to the forums.

I'm going to assume you're referring to this motherboard.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138163

You may be better off to go with ram that is 1333 or 1066, since that's the default ram frequency.

It's about $40 more, but this would be a better processor, plus it's on Biostar's "approved" cpu list.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103808

I think I'd add a couple of fans too. At least one intake and one exhaust.

stoutimore
02-16-2011, 02:09 PM
Thanks for the reply. Yes, that's the mobo I ordered. Looks like I'll need to return the CPU that I ordered. I wish I'd joined this forum beforehand. Oh well. Do you think the Cooler Master PSU is adequate?