PDA

View Full Version : Building a rig for CS5

marekd
02-03-2011, 04:17 PM
Hi all!

I am a real newbie to this. I'm building a PC for use with Photoshop (on daily basis) and Premiere about once a month. No gaming. I've put together a rig via one of the boutique builders, and it's a bit more than I was hoping to spend. This is what I put together:

Processor: Intel Core i7 Extreme Edition 980X 3.33GHz (Six-Core) (Extreme Performance)
Motherboard: EVGA X58 SLI 3 Edition (USB 3.0 & SATA 6Gb/s) (Model: 131-GT-E767)
System Memory: 24GB DDR3 1600MHz Digital Storm Certified (Highly Recommended) (6x4GB Sticks)
Power Supply: 1000W Digital Storm Certified (Dual/Triple/Quad SLI Compatible) (Silent Edition Highly Recommended)
Expansion Bay: - No Thanks
Hard Drive Set 1: Operating System: 1x (160GB Solid State (By: Intel) (Model: X25-M MLC Edition) (Extreme Performance)
Set 1 Raid Options: - No Thanks
Hard Drive Set 2: Multimedia\Data: 1x (600GB Western Digital VelociRaptor (10K RPM) (32MB Cache) (Model: WD6000HLHX)
Hard Drive Set 3: Backup\Misc.: 1x (2TB Hitachi/Seagate (7200 RPM) (32MB Cache)
Optical Drive 1: Blu-Ray & DVD Writer/Reader (Burn + Play Blu-Ray & DVDs) (12x BD-R) (Lite-On iHBS112)
Optical Drive 2: - No Thanks
Internet Access: Wireless-PCI N 300Mbps (Supports 802.11n/g/b)
Video Card: NVIDIA PNY Quadro 2000 1GB (Outputs: DVI, DisplayPorts)
Sound Card: Integrated Motherboard Audio
Extreme Cooling: H20: Stage 3: FrostChill Cooling System: CPU Only
Chassis Airflow: Standard Factory Chassis Fans
Boost Processor: - Overclocked to 3.9GHz
Boost OS: FREE: Yes, Disable and tweak all of the non-crucial services on the operating system
Windows OS: Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate (64-Bit Edition)

And here are some questions that I have as I'm trying to bring the price down:

1. Is there a significant increase in performance (running applications) in having SSD as the boot drive vs 7200RPM drive vs 10K RPM drive?