PDA

View Full Version : BIOS/ Chipset Driver Updates and a strange problem...

Razmo
01-02-2011, 05:51 PM
Hey Rob,

How are you? I've recently completed a new build, successfully ;) However, I've noticed a strange issue from time to time and had a question about updating my BIOS and Chipset drivers.

My strange problem: I've noticed that my keyboard is unresponsive from time to time. The keyboard itself is several years old but operating successfully according to my device manager. I've noticed it when connected to the Internet (GOOGLE) and when trying to select several folders at a time and trying to delete. Basically, it simply doesn't respond and a reboot takes care of it. Any thoughts?

My primary components are: Windows7 64bit, MSI Big Bang Xpower Mother Board, 6gb of Corsair Dominator, OCZ VertexII SSD, and a GTX480 GPU. (it's my first time using a SSD and Windows7 64bit)

Regarding the BIOS and Chipset Drivers, I've noticed that MSI offers updates for both. I've also noticed a couple exclamation points in the Device Manager (my Marvell ATA and Universal something).. It seems that I cannot use the BIOS Live update feature since I'm running Windows7 64bit, so does this leave me with needed to flash my BIOS prior to running the .EXE file? If so, does this also mean that I will need to create a boot disc? I never installed a floppy drive.

Regarding the Chipset Drivers, can I simply download and install or do I need to uninstall my chipset drivers prior to installing updates? If so, how do I accomplish unistalling the chipset drivers?

Thanks,
Nick

Razmo
01-11-2011, 08:04 PM
Any help here?

The Wise Monkey
01-12-2011, 02:58 AM
You should just be able to download and install the chipset drivers, and it will handle the updating of them automatically.

"Universal something" could be related to USB, so that may be why your keyboard isn't working correctly.

Razmo
01-15-2011, 01:33 PM