PDA

View Full Version : Is my new PSU dead?

divedog
09-16-2010, 08:18 PM
I have a brand new power supply.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817814019
This is my first build. I tried to plug in the power supply and hooked up a fan using a 4 pin molex. Nothing happened no fan on the psu no hum nothing. Does it need to be compleatly hooked up to the motherboard etc using the 24 pin in order to show any signs of life or is it DOA?

zburns
09-17-2010, 09:23 AM
Several ideas. That is one expensive PSU and, no doubt, a very good one. Due to the expense of this PSU, one would think it was carefully checked before shipping, so I would think the PSU is ok, until proven otherwise!

However, you also implied the PSU internal fan was not running either which does not make sense. If you have voltage coming in to the PSU and the internal fan is not running, then read your user manual carefully and look for a statement that says this is normal until "a temp sensor heats up" and the fan will run. Also, call the manufacturer and see what they say. The internal PSU fan should be running if the PSU is functional; if the PSU has output voltages, it will also be warm to hot in some places, I would think; and the internal fan should be running; even if it is not hooked up to the mobo yet.

My Antec case fan runs off two pins of a four pin PSU molex connector and my CPU fan runs off a motherboard connector which means the mobo must be installed and plugged up from the PSU for that fan to run.

In an "exotic design", I guess it is possible for the PSU internal fan not to run until a certain temp is reached, but your manual would address that situation; the manufacturer would certainly tell you that what you observe is normal.