PDA

View Full Version : Building a new (gaming) PC.

TheLostSoul
07-15-2010, 06:15 PM
Hello everyone,

Please forgive the lengthiness of this post, as I imagine it will be a bit long, but I have a fair few detailed questions. I'll keep each point numbered for ease of responding. I don't know an entirely lot about building PCs, which is why I'm here... to ask for opinions and suggestions. I've recently been reading reviews about some of my components and wondering if they'll be running optimally together. With this in mind, I realize it isn't truly possible to know until I actually put them together, but it helps to have some of this information beforehand. I'm the kind of guy who likes to put a lot of thought into something before I do it. So I want to take into consideration many elements of building this PC, since I plan for it to be a long-term investment.

I should start by saying that this is my first time building a PC and that I HOPE to progressively upgrade this machine. Get more RAM and 2x SLI maybe. But for now, I just require the basics. Like another recent post (http://forums.mysuperpc.com/showthread.php?t=3313), I wish for this PC mainly to run Final Fantasy XIV and my current PC, an HP zd8000 laptop is beginning to show it's age. Other than that, I'm not a huge PC gamer; the next highest profile game I have is Doom 3 or Half-Life 2.