PDA

View Full Version : LGA755 vs. i5 builds

tjgraf
11-19-2009, 07:58 PM
I am a new PC builder, and have set my goal to build my wife a new PC over Thanksgiving, then build my 3 sons each a new PC over Christmas. We will have a home coming PC building party! What a blast!

None of us is a real gamer type, but we do MS Office, some photography stuff, and just want fairly quick performing equipment that is functional and current. We want snappy video for our new 23” Samsung flat panels we bought last weekend, lots of USB jacks, and a computer that just gets out of our way and lets us fly, so to speak. One of the machines will run Auto CAD Lite 2010 (for my son the contractor). Reliability is paramount, with quiet as a second requirement.

I’m (literally!) agonizing over Rob Williams insistence of simplicity and the 6 month rule versus taking advantage of current hardware advances and OS versions that the WiseMonkey advocates.

If I go with Rob’s philosophy, I buy his dual core Intel E8400 or quad core Q9550 with LGA775 Gigabyte mobo and running Vista or XP 32 bit, if I’m reading his input correctly. His argument for the old OS in 32 bit is that drivers will be easily found and function properly without a lot of wasted time doing the installation. We are not overclockers and gamers, and his conservative philosophies appeal to me from one standpoint

WiseMonkey on the other hand is building with some state of the art equipment including an i5-750 and appropriate Gigabyte P55 motherboard in his budget+ build. WM goes with Win 7 64 even on his lowest end budget build!

I already sprang (sprung? sprong?) for a sharp looking Ikonik aluminum case, a Corsair TX750 power supply for rock solid performance, a Sony optical drive and a very standard 640 gb HDD for my wife's machine.

I’m looking to spend about $1200 or so on each machine, but the budget is not hard and fast.