PDA

View Full Version : Looking for help with a new build

IXLR8
10-26-2009, 09:19 PM
Hey all, just found this place. I'm a junior Mechanical Engineering student at University of Vermont. Must admit, I'm a bit of a computer building n00b. My regular computer is a Mac, and unfortunately I can't run Solidworks on it which I use frequently.

So, I found an old computer that my dad used to use for work. It is a Dell, with XP professional. 2 gigs of ram, Intel Celeron 2.2 GHz processor. Not sure of the graphics card or motherboard, but the whole system is pretty old. I'd like to upgrade it to be a reliable machine up to the task of running Solidworks reasonably well.

What should I look at upgrading? I am thinking graphics card, and motherboard at least. Should I upgrade the processor, or is it adequate?

Any input would be appreciated. I would say I want to keep the total under $300.

Thanks!
-Connor

RickyTick
10-26-2009, 10:14 PM
Hi Connor and welcome to MySuperPC.

Unfortunately upgrading a Dell is not all that easy. Dell tends to use proprietary components in their pc's so compatibility becomes an issue. With that said, it doesn't mean nothing can be done. Upgrading a video card will be easy and straightforward, so maybe there's hope. What is the specific model of the pc, such as Dimension 8400 or something like that.

IXLR8
10-27-2009, 11:29 AM
Its an Optiplex 160L. My room mate knows a thing or two about computers, and he said this was an odd dell. Something like the case is different, and allows for upgrading it where other Dell's don't. Like I said, it used to be a work computer at my dad's office, so who knows what was changed on it.

Here's a pic of the inside, might help.
http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s270/connorburke/Stuff/CIMG1702.jpg

chunkylover53
10-27-2009, 09:57 PM