PDA

View Full Version : Sonata III case prob, or something else?

astevens0691
10-16-2009, 06:31 AM
Sigh. I was a superpc graduate for a whole five days.

Last night, turned off the working pc, disconnected external stuff, and moved pc and peripherals to another room. Reconnected everything, turned the electricity back on, and tried to turn the pc on. Nothing. Dead as a door nail.

The monitor is receiving power, the speakers are receiving power, the surge protector says it is good to go.

Plugged the pc power cord into different outlets on the surge protector. Think I tried every outlet. Monitor, speakers, and surge protector indicate they are getting power. The pc, nada. No fans, no lights, no post. Took a second pc power cord from a working pc, and retried all the outlets in the surge protector. Repeated, turning the power supply on and off from the back of the case for each attempt. Nothing.

Next opened the pc case, moved the hd so I could jiggle the wires from the power and reset buttons. Reconnected the 24-pin cord from the power supply to the mobo. Pushed in all the other connections. Nothing disconnected.

Turned on electricity again. This time, when the power supply is turned on from the back, the case fan turns. The cpu cooler fan does not run. Tried pushing the power button and reset button on the front of the case while the case fan was running to see if it would turn off. It did not turn off. It remained running until I turned of the power at the back of the power supply.

So, what could cause this? Power and reset button problems, power supply problems, or a newly fried motherboard?

This pc was built with the following specs:

Antec Sonata III case
Antec Earthwatts model EA-500D, switchable, 500 watts maximum

GA-G41M-ES2L motherboard with boxed Intel pentium dual-core processor chip and cpu fan
4mb Kingston ram, speed compatible with motherboard and processor
Western Digital Caviar Green sata 640gb hard drive