PDA

View Full Version : vista ultimate

Joe
06-04-2009, 12:54 AM
I am planning to build the system recomended in the 05/23 edition of your blog. Today I see you are recommending xp. Is the new hardware worth changing over to or will I be ok with the May 25 th version?

JeffAHayes19
06-07-2009, 01:22 AM
Joe, I'm a newbie here, but I've been waiting to build my first system until Windows 7 goes RTM, because I didn't want another "upgrade debacle." Upgrading from XP to Vista was something of a nightmare.

There have been lots of rave reviews of Windows 7 and why it's really time for all the folks who have been sticking with XP to upgrade once Windows 7 comes out... At any rate, now that 7 is pretty much "finished," since I had already partitioned my C: drive a while back and that partition just had some recorded TV on it I could easily move elsewhere, I finally decided to reformat it and downloaded the "final beta build -- RC 7100" last night and installed it this afternoon, giving me a dual-boot system now -- I downloaded the 64-bit version, even though my Vista is 32-bit, and I'm on Windows 7, Explorer 8 right now -- Ultimate Edition.

According to Microsoft, I can use this Beta until June 1, 2010, although beginning March 1, 2010 it will start shutting down the computer every 1 hours to let me know "time's running out." Anyway, my point is that I MIGHT go ahead and do my build NOW, knowing this, and just install the RC 7100 Windows 7 on it until the finished product is available, rather than have to buy Vista for the new computer, then upgrade -- IF that'll work... I'm on my first day playing with this, so I need to test it a bit more, but so far, so good.