PDA

View Full Version : First Build Questions -- High-End Core i7 Multimedia

JeffAHayes19
05-30-2009, 10:44 PM
Hi folks,

I've been "haunting" this forum for quite some time because my initial registration email got misrouted, so I wasn't able to complete my registration... Gave me a chance to read enough threads to have a good idea what most folks are doing here, and it's not exactly what I'm thinking of doing, but I think some of you have the expertise to help me.

I've never built a PC before, but I've replaced enough parts (power supply, RAM, video cards), and watched some of the online videos, and I think I could do it. It's not as much about cost, for me, as I've been saving up -- it's about getting exactly what I want.

For the first time in 20 years or so I want to go really high-end (which is a much better deal now than it used to be). I'm planning to wait until Windows 7 is out, so I'm not in a hurry, and I want to do things right. My biggest questions deal with processor and video card... Motherboard, case and power supply are also issues, but can be dealt with more when I get ready to build.