PDA

View Full Version : Putting 2 PC's togather (HELP!)1st time

ZMAY
12-31-2008, 01:17 PM
hi this is kinda going to be a long story and im a NEWB at building pc's i have never built one before but here goes..

i had a store bought Emachine which broke about a year ago, u push the power buttom and it wouldnt turn so i thought it would be the Power-Supply was broken i changed it with a working one and still the computer wouldnt turn( NO SOUNDS OR FANS TURNED ON!), i had a friend check the computer who works on them and he told me the MotherBoard was broken.

I was then given another computer from my cusin which he had gotten from someone, it was a CUSTOM build computer with a Case,LIghts,Fans. it worked when he got he we used it for a little bit. he gave it to me and when i tryed to turn it on it wouldnt display on any monitor as if a monitor wasnt hooked up i tested it on 2 diff monitors, i then replaced the slot where (i guess u call it the monitor slot lol? where the monitor plugs into the tower) still did not work, THE COMPUTER DID TURN ON AND LIGHT. anyways that really doesnt matter becuase my cusin and myself were messing around and we turn the POWERSUPPLY(500 some voltage it is) switch to a lower voltage and BOOM sparks and smoke came out cooking the powersupply and i guess broke the mother board, i put a working Powersupply into the custom computer and it did not turn on which im guessing means the Motherboard is broken

to make it short and sum it up,

I have TWO computers a 2 or 3 year old Emachine and Custom Computer, which both have BROKEN motherboards, i want to build a new computer out of the parts im obviously going to have to buy a New motherboard the custom computer case should be fine its pretty big,
im guessing i can use all the RAM and hardrives still they should be ok?

ill try getting some spec's on the parts i have posted on here
here are some;
Emachine: intel celron d processor 340