PDA

View Full Version : I am stuck....after 2 days.....

wowguy
12-17-2008, 09:39 AM
This is my first build and I am stuck at the "test hard drive" part of the instructions.

This is what I put together:

Cooler Master 690 case (I picked this because of all the fans)
Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W PSU (Picked this, because I run a LOT of USB devices (keyboard, mouse, gamepad, headset))
Gigabyte GA-X48-DS4 MoBo
3 GB Crucial Ballistix 1024MB PC2-8500 DDR2 (Gonna run XP 32-bit because I have the disks, so am extra GB of RAM is mute)
Intel Core 2 Duo E7200 LGA775 CPU
Zalman CNPS9700LED (this thing is like a Hemi, and it glows Blue!)
EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 896MB DDR3 Video Card
Western Digital Caviar SE16 640GB 7200rpm SATA 300 MB/s HDD
Sony NEC Optiarc 20x IDE DVD RW/CDRW (Black)
SABRENT CRW-UINB 68-in-1 USB 2.0 Internal Card Reader w/ USB 2.0 Port (this is mounted but not hooked up to my MoBo yet, reviews suggested waiting until after Windows install to hook this up)

I did not install a floppy drive. My first boot went flawlessly. After connecting my HDD and my DVD/CD drive, I do the second boot, get into BIOS without a hitch. In trying to translate the online install instructions to what I am seeing in the Gigabyte BIOS (which is VERY different) it appears that a lot of the BIOS adjusting was completed automatically, that is to say my HDD and DVD/CD drive were instantly recognized, and all the other IDE masters were set to "None". There were a couple of changes I made, based on the MoBo guide book for settings to change if you were going to use XP, which I am.