PDA

View Full Version : First time builder here looking for input

grilly
10-15-2008, 10:20 PM
OK guys. After a lot of deliberation I have decided to build my own computer, inspired mostly by this site and this board. I am a fairly comfortable working with electronic components as I used to do it for a living. Here is what I have(can you tell I followed the recommendations of this site?)

case- Antec Sonata III 500 Black 0.8mm cold rolled steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 500W Power Supply - Retail

Motherboard-ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45

CPU- Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor

Cooler- ZALMAN CNPS9500 AT 2 Ball CPU Cooling Fan/Heatsink

HD- Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Memory- 2 gig DDR PC25300U

Video- EVGA e Geforce 8800GTS

Sound- Creative Soundblaster x-fi Xtreme gamer

Windows XP Pro

This system is going to be used for a lot of your usual run of the mill stuff combined with some video editing, a lot of photography stuff, and some gaming. I will be starting the build this weekend and I wanted to start this thread as I know I will have a lot of questions.

I guess first off, I am wondering if anybody sees any issues here or what the opinion is of what I have going here. The board recommended by My Super PC is discontinued so I went with the P5Q PRO. I'm assuming that will work.

I'm also wondering if the 2 Gig of Ram is enough for this system. Do I need more?

I will be using this site ad the "How to Build an Affordable, Quality, Fast PC" book to do my build. Thanks in advance for any ideas or input.

RickyTick
10-16-2008, 07:53 PM
Hey Grilly. Welcome

Your build looks good.

I would consider going with better ram like DDR2 800 like this:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231098

There are also better video cards than the 8800GTS in the same price range.
Here are some suggestions