PDA

View Full Version : My pc's max memory?

jguess
10-11-2008, 09:48 PM
This is my first time upgrading. I have a gateway 9500 gt quad core phenom with 3 gigs running vista 32. According to the crucial website, my systems limit is 4 gigs. I was looking at 4gigs 2(2) of corsair on newegg since it has a rebate or 2(1) gig of crucial. My question is whether my system would recognize and use the extra ram from the corsair or if its a waste w/o vista 64? Also what determines your max memory.. the amount of slots available for memory? Id like to get the most ram possible in this pc! Thanks for your help.

RickyTick
10-11-2008, 09:51 PM
Without a 64-bit operating system, you would be wasting money moving from 3 to 4 gb.

jguess
10-12-2008, 08:32 AM
Are you refering too vista 32 only recognizing 3 gb? If so I found a workaround for this a while back on a gaming forum which lets your system recognize more then 3gb. If you dont mind can you elaborate? Thanks!

RickyTick
10-12-2008, 09:09 AM
Even with the "work-around" it still won't address the entire 4gb. Furthermore, Vista runs just fine on 2gb of ram. So if you have 3, then you should have more than enough to operate. (Depending on what programs you're running of course)

I have 4gb with the 64 bit OS, and I rarely use more than 50% of my ram capabilities.

I'm not the Tech expert around here, so maybe some others might have differing opinions.

jguess
10-12-2008, 11:03 AM
Ok, thanks for the help.. looking into vista 64 also, and I use this pc for gaming, go figure. Anyone else?

RickyTick
10-12-2008, 11:08 AM
Yeah, I use mine for gaming mostly too, and I have zero issues with Vista 64bit.

The Wise Monkey
10-12-2008, 11:08 AM
*puts hand up*

I've been using Vista 64 for a while now, and have had no problems with any gaming. You can turn off Aero and all the unneccessary stuff if need be, but that would just be part of your standard FPS gaining techniques.