PDA

View Full Version : First PC Build Jitters

abscifi
09-26-2008, 12:13 AM
So I am a first time PC builder. I was just wondering if anybody could comment on my build. Just share some personal experience or maybe point out any compatibilities issues that I overlooked. I am going for a budget gaming PC. Thanks for you help!

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=9617606

The RAM I chose is: 4GB kit (2GBx2), 240-pin DIMM, DDR2 PC2-6400 memory module

Barrister73
09-26-2008, 09:08 PM
You still need an OS. Since you want to go 4 Gig, make sure that it is along the lines of Vista 64.

MRR

abscifi
09-26-2008, 11:49 PM
thanks! I actually just realized that I have an old IDE hard drive with XP on it that I am salvaging for the time being. I know 4 gigs of ram might be overkill until I go 64 bit but I was thinking for the future and RAM is pretty cheap so I figured what the hey. Thanks for your input! I really appreciate it

Damlite
09-27-2008, 07:27 AM
Looks fine, depending on what your needs are though, not really sure if those purchases are adequate for your purpose, but it satisfies the mid gaming rig standard.

Just a question though, why are you ordering 3 motherboards? Are you building more than one computer?

Barrister73
09-27-2008, 07:49 AM
I do not know this for a fact, but I do not think you can simply swap in an old hard drive and have the OS transfer to your new computer. If it can be done, I'd love to know for when I make my next build.

MRR

blazer
09-27-2008, 09:17 AM
barrister, the last time i tried it the OS booted up and i just had to load some new drivers

RickyTick
09-27-2008, 10:33 AM
I'd like to suggest this video card instead.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130379

The 8800GT runs very loud and very hot. This link above is to the 9800GT Akimbo. Which is the exact same card but with a dual slot cooler that exhausts hot air out of the case. Its only $20 more and well worth it.