PDA

View Full Version : My first computer-finished and working!

Dan Curtis
09-15-2008, 11:26 AM
I have never built a computer before and I followed Rob's recommendations.

Case:
PSU:Antec Sonata III
Motherboard:ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition
CPU:AMD Athlon 64x2 6400+
RAM:Crucial Ballistix DDR2 PC2-8500 2 megabyte
Graphics card:eVGA GeForce 8600 GT 256 mb
Sound card:Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme Gamer
Hard Drive(s): Western Digital Caviar SE 16 320 gb x 2
Optical Drive(s):Sony DRU 840A DVD RW

Monitor:LG 1952TB

Operating System:Windows XP Pro

First, just having the recommendations about what to buy saved me an enormous amount of time. If I had to do it myself I would not have had any idea about anything.

I am very happy with all the components. The only problem with anything was a dent in the case and I returned it and got a new one without any problem.

The case is roomy inside and has plenty of power connections.

The motherboard is easy to install.

The sound card and video card just slide in without any problems.

The cd, floppy drive and hard drives all slide in on rails that snap into place making installation and removal very easy.

I really just took it one step at a time. I made sure when I was ready to work on something that I had plenty of time and I wasn't tired.

I read the instructions carefully so I knew what I should do before I did it. I looked at all the pictures on line so I could see the enlarged pictures.

So putting the components together is very straightforward.

The only tricky parts have to do with setting up the BIOS and installing drivers. Here are some examples:

There are jacks on the front of the case for headphones. To set this up you have to choose between two settings, the 97 or the HD. (HD is better.) There is a driver on the ASUS installation disc for HD. But when you try to install it, it tells you that you need the Microsoft HD hotfix.