PDA

View Full Version : Another new build

Tom Robbins
08-29-2008, 11:28 AM
This is a great site and has inspired me to build my own. I have been building r/c airplanes for many years and after studying the book and forums have decided to bite the bullet on this project . Following are the components I plan to use. If anyone finds something out of wack or incompatible, please advise. (If I get in trouble, I have my 6 year old grandson, who builds 1000 piece Legos to bail me out.)

Case: Antec Twelve hundred black ATX Full Tower
Power Supply: Antec True Power Quattro tpq-1000 1000w ATX
Motherboard: MSI K9A2 Platinum Quad PCI-2
Processor: AMD HD985ZXAGHBOX Phenon Quad Core 9850
Video Card: XFC PVT98GYDLU GEForce 9800 GT512MB 256-bit GDDR3
Hard drive: Wester Digital Cavier SE16 750GB
RAM: Crucial BallistixBL2KIT25664AR80A-DDR2 PC2-6400
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S203N 20XDVD-ROM Burner SATA Drive
Keyboard/Mouse: Logitech 920000264
Monitor: Acer AL2216 wbd 22" LCD
CPU Cooler: Zalman CN-s700B-ALCu LED CPU coller w blue LED
Operating System: VISTA Premium Home

Thanks, Tom Robbins

RickyTick
08-29-2008, 03:44 PM
Welcome aboard Tom.

I don't know what you plan to use the PC for, but if you're just web surfing, emailing, video watching/editing, and gaming, then this setup has a good deal of overkill. Can you give a few more details on how you will use this computer.

Thanks

Tom Robbins
08-29-2008, 04:23 PM
I will be using the computer for web surfing, home business applications, emailing, 3D & internet gaming, video editing, photoshop editing, & webcam.

I may have gotten caught up in some of the hype for a top notch system, but I didn't want to have to keep upgrading along the way.

I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks, Tom Robbins

RickyTick
08-29-2008, 04:44 PM
The 1200 is HUGE. :eek: but its certainly a great case. I will hold anything (or anybody) you want to put in there. If you have room for it, then go for it. It usually runs about twice the price of the Antec 900.