PDA

View Full Version : Need Build Advice

danb4026
05-09-2008, 11:05 AM
Hello, new member here. I am thinking about building a PC to act as additional render engine to my main machine. I use a program called 3ds Max and Vray to create my 3d images and files. Then Vray is used to render these images.

My current machine is a Falcon NW Mach V with a Intel quad core extreme processor, Nvidia Quatro 4600 graphics card, and Nvidia 680 SLI motherboard with Vista 64 bit and 8gb Ram.

A high res single frame image could take many hours to render from my single machine. While doing the actual render, the machine is basically unusable for any other functions, so I am stuck.

I would like to get a second machine to distribute the rendering functions to (called Distributed Rendering) and thus cut the rendering time down and increase my efficiency. This is my work, so it is important.

Cost is a major factor now because I am just starting out, but I need the most bang for the buck.

I have a new Nvidia Quatro 1700 sitting in a box right now that I can use.

Could anyone advise as to what I should look into putting into this machine? My understanding is that it should have similar power as to current machine.

I do not know where to start, but think buying the parts and building myself will save me much needed $$. Thanks!

shyster
05-10-2008, 01:16 AM
First off with a card like that just lying around it seems like you are in a good place. I am neither a professional nor even skilled at it, but our resident, semi-pro?, Chunky says that quadros are the top of the line.

From there it really will depend on your budget and to some extent personal taste for things like the case, both style and size, as well as weight and lighting.

Just some general suggestions to get you going though would look like this: