PDA

View Full Version : Can I do this?

avengerz43
03-16-2008, 08:15 AM
Hello this is my first time to this site I was wandering if anyone could just help me determine if the following components will be compatible together before i drop all the money on all the parts and get them here and start assembling my PC and find out that something isn't compatible with something else. Just to clarify I read the sticky post and I'm not wanting to know neccessarily if my processor will go with my motherboard or whether my motherboard and power supply are compatible I already know that stuff I really want to know if I can use my video cards in SLI dual mode with my current setup. Like more specifically if the power supply will be enough power for the video cards, and if it will all fit into the case. So here's my PC info:

motherboard: The EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA Nforce 780i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard.

Powersupply: Coolmax CUQ-1200B ATX12V/EPS12V 1200W Power Supply

Processor: Intel Core 2 Extreme QX 9650 Yorkfield 3.0 GHZ LGA 775 130W Quad Core Processor Model BX80569QX9650

jclaydon
03-16-2008, 10:12 AM
Well since none of the experts have chimed in yet, I'll just repeat what they most likely would say, since I have been reading on this forum for a couple of months now.. :)

First of all have you REALLY done your research with SLI? Most of the people here are very against it. The performance gain you get for the amount of money you spend is very bad according to the experts here.. Plus its extremely difficult to troubleshoot if something goes wrong.

Also most people do not need a 1200W power supply. Most of the experts on here will tell you it's also a waste of money.

Jamie, one of the senior memers of this forum and also a moderator always recommends a corsair 520HX. Its not really about the wattage rating but the QUALITY of the power supply and this one is the best in the industry..