PDA

View Full Version : Some newbie ideas

Sailavie
03-13-2008, 09:01 PM
First, let me start by saying that this is a great site and completely in the spirit of what internet sharing is all about. So, thank you for offering your knowledge and maintaining such a great site.

Being that I am not a techie, I’m looking at the possibility of building my own pc from a bit of a different angle. Although this site is a great resource for how to put together various components, it does not appear to offer a user friendly approach to picking the right combination of components for a specific end result (perhaps I missed some areas – it’s a vast site).

What I mean is that it would be nice to have a “menu” of potential pc builds which are geared toward specific uses. So, for example, if the primary use is an all around family pc where basic everyday computing will take place (email, pictures, documents, etc…) then a list of latest components could be given that would achieve that purpose. Then, as a side recommendation, a separate menu of items could be suggested. So, say that the pc is a family pc, but may at times need to edit and burn video to DVD. This task I imagine would require something a bit different than your basic email and picture type machine.

I mention all this because to me the most confusing and daunting task is not the actual assembly (I’m very mechanically and electronically capable), but rather the correct selection of components that will build a machine to my expectations and also function without component conflict.