PDA

View Full Version : Proposing a Build

jmar
03-12-2008, 05:28 PM
I am a new pc builder and this is my first proposal for a build and pricing. This needs to be a good gaming computer with a reasonable price within a range prefferably well under $1500. I already have a good monitor Dell E197FP, optimal resolution 1280*1024.

Proc: Intel Duo Core 2 E8400 $250 if can be found
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3P $150
Heatsink: Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro $27
Graph: eVGA GeForce 8800GT 512MB $200 w/ rebate
PSU: Corsair 520HX $90 w/ rebate
Mem: Corsair 2x2 GB toal 4GB DDR2 800 PC2 6400 $74 w/ rebate
HD: Western Digital Cavier 320 GB OEM $75
DVD: Asus Black 20x DRW-2041L1T $37
Case: Antec 900 $120
Total pricing: $1135

Questions:
Can i get away with the cheaper OEM version of windows rather than retail since im building a computer? were talking a $100 dollar cheaper

If i plan on expanding or maybe even overclocking will the 520W from the PSU be enough power or should i expand?

How much longer until E8400 can be bought again?

I would like some quality sound if i could obtain some. Can anyone reccomend a decently priced good sound card and also some decent well priced speakers.

afdude2018
03-12-2008, 05:36 PM
The PSU should be enough for future expansion and overclocking. I had my GPU and CPU OC'd on my rig just to test it out and everything was stable. The PSU is one that I've seen reccomended on this site a lot which is why I went with it for my build. 2 1/2 months and still going strong with some upgrades already made.

shyster
03-12-2008, 06:31 PM
Basically the OEM version of vista is exactly the same as the retail version in terms of what it does for your computer. What it lacks, and this will be the deciding factor for you if you want it or not, is support from microsoft and the ability to transfer it to a new computer should you want to at some point.