PDA

View Full Version : Compatible ram?

vivaldiscool
03-02-2008, 11:14 AM
Hello, I have two questions, as this is my first time upgrading ram, my questions might seem incredibly simple.

First of all, as things stand I have 1GB of memory in the form of two 512MB PC2-5300 333MHz sticks. Now, I was planning on getting this... http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145034
so I was wondering, would it be better to keep my old ram in addition to this (I have 4 slots) and have 3GBs at the cost of keeping the 333MHz speed? Or should I toss the old ram and settle for 2 gigs with the benifit of the higher speed.

As for my second question, I've read several things about this ram having higher than usual power requirments, so how would I be able to tell if I can meet them?

I'm running 32bit Windows XP, and the extra ram will be for video editing, 3d rendering, and gaming.

Many thanks for your help.

shyster
03-02-2008, 11:41 AM
I would say 2Gbs of faster ram is probably better than 3GBs of slow ram, but to be sure you could stick them all in, and run a benchmarking program. I do not know the name of one that would test the ram speed and efficiency off hand but I am sure there must be one.

In regards to the power consumption I cannot answer that, if you told us your current specs, what you are running and how big your current power supply is someone might be able to help you. I believe Rob also has on his site a link to a power consumption checker and that might calculate if your computer can deal with the extra energy out put. I have not used it so I cannot comment on it personally.

Since you are running a 32 bit system they can only handle at most 3gbs and I am not sure how well they do it, again I lack personal experience. But it seems that I have seen places that getting close to the limit causes malfunctions sometimes.

chunkylover53
03-02-2008, 12:51 PM