PDA

View Full Version : Please help me choose a Motherboard and CPU

chef19
01-06-2008, 02:09 AM
Ok so I am attempting to build my first PC, pretty excited. The main purpose is to push two 30" Samsungs.

I am not much of a gamer, my main focus is really just trying to build a quality machine which also has upgradibility for the future.

I might have done this in the reverse order in terms of what I have already purchased, but from what I can tell it shouldn't matter too much and there will still be good options for the motherboard and CPU.

I want to go with an Intel Core 2 Duo as the CPU, so that obv limits me in terms of the motherboard.

Here is what I have already purchased. Please help me pick out a motherboard and CPU that will be compatible with the components I have already purchased. I sincerely appreciate all of the help as I am a total noob.

---------

4GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-6400 DDR2

eVGA GeForce 8800GT 600MHZ 512MB Video Card

Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB 7200rpm SATA 300 MB/s

Sony DRU840A Dual Formal Double Layer DVD RW/CDRW

Jamie Nixx
01-06-2008, 12:40 PM
How much money do you have left to spend on a CPU and Motherboard?

My recommendation is a Q6600 CPU and an Asus P5K-C motherboard, bare in mind this will come to about $400.

chef19
01-06-2008, 01:11 PM
Jaime I was hoping you would respond to my post cause you give such great advice.

At the time of my post I was going to go with the Core 2 Duo, but to be honest the price difference for the Quad is probably worth it.

My concern is that it is one of the early editions of the Quad. Maybe they will make it better etc. Is this even a valid concern? The price difference doesnt mean much to me so if the Quad is SIGNIFICANTLY better then I will def get it.

Also, I guess the motherboard is the central hub of the computer. Will this motherboard support future upgradibility? I'm assuming it will as you wouldnt give bad advice.